Vermont Brain Injury Advisory Council

Vermont Brain Injury Advisory council

Interested in Being a Part of Our Advisory Council?

The Vermont Brain Injury Advisory Council supports the work of BIAVT and provides mission-based leadership. While BIAVT’s Director leads day-to-day operations, the Council-Director relationship is a partnership, and the appropriate involvement of the Council is both critical and expected.

Projects include:

  • Amending/Creating statewide Needs Assessment Surveys,
  • Input and discussions around brain injury services, care, and treatment in Vermont,
  • Shaping events and trainings for persons with a brain injury, their families and professionals in their communities.  

Please contact Jess Leal at if you would like to join!

2023-2024 Council Members


Council Meeting Facilitator: 

Joy Mortelliti Education & Outreach Coordinator, BIAVT

Council Members:

Ashley McCormick, Neuro-Resource Facilitator, BIAVT

Amy Gillilan, Administrative Assistant, BIAVT

Elizabeth Reagle, Neuro-Resource Facilitator, BIAVT

Jess Leal,  Director, BIAVT

Aimil Parmelee, Occupational Therapist, Complex Care Coordinator, Central Vermont Home Health and Hospice

Evelyn Mercado, Registered Nurse, University of Vermont Medical Center

Marlena Hughes, Special Educator, Consulting Teacher, CHSVT, DOC

Michael S. Cannizzaro, PhD, Associate Professor & Department Chair – Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Vermont

Peter McNichol, Supervisor, Non-Emergency Medical Transportation program, Department of Vermont Health Access

Sue Zamecnik, Senior Vocational Counselor I, HireAbility-VT

Teresa Robert, Community Health Worker, St. Albans Primary Care




Skip to content